Piazza Barberini takes its name from Palazzo Barberini, built in 1633, which houses the National Gallery of Ancient Art and the Italian Numismatic Institute. Today it is different from the past, when it was known as Piazza Grimana and was characterised by a rural area.
Iconic is the Triton Fountain created by Bernini for Pope Urban VIII Barberini in 1642.
Only later were roads and palaces built, allowing the Baroque work to become a small island in the traffic.
The conservative restoration of the building at number 47 included a complete overhaul of the surfaces on the façade and the stone slabs, which showed extensive deterioration, black crusts and dirt due to the accumulation of smog particles. Lacunae and lesions affected the area of the cornices, while the downpipes were damaged in several places.
The work by Vivenda was carried out with respect for the ‘minimum intervention’, to avoid compromising the ‘text’ in its documentary value. Invasive removal and reintegration operations were therefore excluded.
All the deteriorated parts of the stringcourse and window frames were restored, while the missing parts were reconstructed. All the stone elements of the window frames and thresholds were overhauled and cleaned.
The façades were painted with lime milk and natural earth, and the eaves channels were replaced. All slate covers were cleaned and replaced where necessary.
The end result of conservative restoration is a work of art.
Façade: Cleaning, consolidation, additions
Roofing: terrace roof overhaul, application of waterproofing, inspection and restoration of skylight, paving of adjacent skylight area